The 26th Annual NIHCM Awards

NIHCM Founding President and CEO, Nancy Chockley

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 26th Annual NIHCM Awards and the largest grant program in our history – $1 million for journalism and research projects.

It is our pleasure to introduce you to the extraordinary reporters and researchers whose articles and studies represent the most informative, compelling and potentially influential work in each category. Meet our winners in the short videos below.

Data-Driven Storytelling Award

2020 Winner

"Heat and Health in American Cities and Code Red: Baltimore's Climate Divide”

NPR, University of Maryland Howard Center for Investigative Journalism and Capital News Service

Meg Anderson and Sean McMinn

“As climate change makes cities hotter, the most vulnerable people are going to be the most at risk ... we proved that this was already happening.”

— Meg Anderson

Television and Audio Journalism Journalism Award

2020 Winner

"Predator on the Reservation”

PBS News' Frontline and The Wall Street Journal

Gabe Johnson, Christopher Weaver, Dan Frosch, Raney Aronson-Rath, Andrew Metz, Jennifer S. Forsyth and Mike Shum

“The film produced immediate results when the Indian Health Service was forced to change its policies to better protect children.”

— Christopher Weaver

Investigative and General Reporting award

2020 Winner

"Inside America's High-Deductible Revolution”

Los Angeles Times

Noam Levey

“We did a nationwide poll of more than fourteen hundred people with job based health insurance ... about the impact of cost-sharing.”

— Noam Levey

trade journalism award

2020 Winner

"Peripheral Vision: As Office-Based Practices Proliferate, Who Is Watching Out for Patients?”


Caitlin E. Cox

“As doctors are moving their procedures out of the hospital setting ... there is less oversight and this is become ever more important...”

— Caitlin E. Cox

research award

2020 Winner

"What Do Workplace Wellness Programs Do? Evidence from the Illinois Workplace Wellness Study”

The Quarterly Journal of Economics

Damon Jones, David Molitor and Julian Reif

2020 Winner

“Effect of a Workplace Wellness Program on Employee Health and Economic Outcomes: A Randomized Clinical Trial”

The Journal of the American Medical Association

Zirui Song and Katherine Baicker

“When studying the most pressing policy issues of our day, rarely is it the case that the best research is encapsulated in a single paper. And for this reason, it is both fitting and an honor to receive this award alongside Zirui Song and Kate Baicker for their first-rate analysis of a separate wellness program.”

— David Molitor

Congratulate our winners and share their stories! #NIHCMAwards

We invite you to apply to our journalism and research grant programs.

The winning entries were selected from more than 400 entries by our panels of independent judges. As is the case every year, we received so many remarkable entries. Learn more about the finalists' impressive work.

Award Finalists

Investigative and General Reporting | Television and Audio Journalism Journalism
Trade Journalism | Data-Driven Storytelling | Research

our Judges

A special thank you to our judges listed below.

Investigative and General Reporting Award

  • Eliza Barclay
  • John Carreyrou
  • Ceci Connolly
  • John Fauber
  • Clifton Leaf
  • Fred Schulte

Trade Journalism Award

  • Eliza Barclay
  • John Carreyrou
  • Ceci Connolly
  • John Fauber
  • Clifton Leaf
  • Fred Schulte

Television and Audio Journalism Journalism Award

  • Callie Crossley
  • Susan Dentzer
  • Gisele Grayson
  • Stone Phillips
  • Julie Rovner
  • Alice Irene Pifer
  • Susan Wagner

Data-Driven Storytelling Award

  • Julia Belluz
  • Christopher J. Conover
  • Aaron Carroll
  • Michael Millenson
  • Alan Murray
  • Meredith White

Research Award

  • Laurence C. Baker
  • William Custer
  • Tsung-Mei Cheng
  • Karen DeSalvo
  • Sherry Glied
  • Vicky Gregg
  • Joseph P. Newhouse
  • Mark Pauly
  • Gail R. Wilensky