Transforming Health Care Through Evidence and Collaboration
Transforming Health Care Through Evidence and Collaboration

NIHCM Foundation Television and Radio Journalism Award

 televisionradioaward image

The NIHCM Foundation Health Care Television and Radio Journalism Award recognizes excellence in television and radio reporting on health care issues and policy. The 13-year-old award carries a $20,000 prize and is judged by an independent panel of current and former journalists:

  • Callie Crossley, WGBH & NPR
  • Susan Dentzer, Duke University
  • Gisele Grayson, NPR
  • Stone Phillips,
  • Alice Irene Pifer, Beyond Hoarding Documentary (recused)
  • Julie Rovner, Kaiser Family Foundation & Kaiser Health News
  • Susan Wagner, NBC News 

View Past TV & Radio Journalism Award Winners View the 2020 Finalists

Television and Radio Journalism Award News


We are honored to announce the winner for the 13th Annual Television and Radio Journalism Award: PBS News' Frontline and The Wall Street Journal.

Meet the Winners

13th Annual Television and Radio Journalism Award Process



A $20,000 prize will be presented to the winner.


  • Entries must originally have aired during calendar year 2019
  • Entry can be either an individual story or a series
  • Stories must be advertised and disseminated as an official series in order to be submitted as one entry
  • Entries will be accepted from staff employees of national or local news organizations, nationally-distributed cable programs, online streaming platforms or from freelance journalists who have produced reports disseminated by same
  • Online stories will be accepted if produced for and disseminated originally on the web in affiliation with a television or radio news organization, or through an online streaming platform


  • Deadline: February 3, 2020
  • Entry is free
  • Limit three entries per entrant
  • Applicants must submit a URL link to their piece or series. Please contact Harpur Schwartz at hschwartz[at] if you are unable submit a link to your entry.

Frequently Asked Questions

Selection Criteria

  • New insights generated by the reporting
  • Impact on health care policy
  • Quality of writing and production


  • Callie Crossley, Television Commentator, WGBH; Radio Commentator, NPR; former Health and Medicine Producer, 20/20, ABC News
  • Susan Dentzer, Visiting Fellow, Robert J. Margolis Center for Health Policy, Duke University; former Senior Policy Adviser, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation; former Health Correspondent, NewsHour with Jim Lehrer, PBS
  • Gisele Grayson, Senior Producer, Science Desk, NPR
  • Stone Phillips,; former Dateline NBC Anchor
  • Alice Irene Pifer, Co-Producer, Beyond Hoarding Documentary; Co-Editor, The Authentic Voice: The Best Reporting on Race and Ethnicity; former Producer, ABC News (recused)
  • Julie Rovner, Robin Toner Distinguished Fellow, Kaiser Family Foundation, and Chief Washington Correspondent, Kaiser Health News
  • Susan Wagner, Senior Coordinating Producer, Medical Unit, NBC News