Press Releases / May 16, 2019

The NIHCM Awards: 25 Years of Outstanding Research & Journalism

This week NIHCM Foundation hosted the 25th Annual NIHCM Awards at the Organization of American States in Washington, D.C. to recognize outstanding health care research and journalism.

"The NIHCM Awards are central to our mission to transform health care through evidence and collaboration. We are pleased to recognize these remarkable winning works and grateful to all who have contributed to making these awards meaningful and impactful," said Nancy Chockley.

A foundational principle of the NIHCM Awards is that the winners and finalists are selected by independent panels of judges, who have been instrumental in the program's success. To celebrate their contributions, long-time judge and renowned reporter Stone Phillips joined Nancy Chockley in presenting the awards as a special guest emcee. Additionally, Fortune CEO and inaugural NIHCM Awards judge Alan Murray gave a video tribute to speak to the role the awards have played in supporting investigative health care journalism.

The winners of the 2019 NIHCM Awards are:

Television and Radio Journalism Award

Lesley Stahl, Richard Bonin, Ayesha Siddiqi, Richard Buddenhagen, Jeff Fager, Bill Owens

The Rockford File

CBS News, 60 Minutes

General Circulation Award

Marty Schladen, Catherine Candisky, Lucas Sullivan, Darrel Rowland, Rachel Kilroy

Side Effects

The Columbus Dispatch

Research Award

Zack Cooper, Stuart V. Craig, Martin Gaynor, John Van Reenen

The Price Ain't Right? Hospital Prices and Health Spending on the Privately Insured

The Quarterly Journal of Economics

Digital Media Award

Larry Price, Gayathri Vaidyanathan, Talia Bronshtein, Sohara Mehroze Shachi, Anna Cunningham, Brendan Borrell

The Weight of Numbers: Air Pollution and PM2.5

Undark Magazine

Trade Award

Trade Award

Jon Cohen, Jennifer Couzin-Frankel

The Sunshine State's Dark Cloud



NIHCM Foundation
(202) 296-4426