Press Releases / May 02, 2016

Winners Named in 22nd Annual NIHCM Research and Journalism Awards

Washington, D.C. – May 2, 2016 - NIHCM Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the 22nd Annual NIHCM Awards. The winning entries were chosen by independent panels of highly esteemed journalists and researchers. The winners will be honored at a banquet in Washington, DC later this month and will each receive a $10,000 cash prize.

General Circulation Print Journalism Award


John Carreyrou & Mike Siconolfi, "Testing Theranos," The Wall Street Journal

This investigation exposed blood-testing start-up Theranos Inc. for concealing failures in its technology while continuing to perform millions of tests. The judges called the series “groundbreaking” and “devastatingly good,” commending the reporters for “taking on a very secretive company.”

Television and Radio Journalism Award


Daniel Zwerdling, Robert Little, Nicole Beemsterboer, Barbara Van Woerkom, Robert Benincasa, Samantha Sunne & Lydia Emmanouilidou, “Injured Nurses,” NPR

This series uncovered an epidemic of debilitating and preventable injuries among nurses caused by lifting and moving patients. The judges called the series “stunning,” “fresh” and “great storytelling” and applauded NPR for exposing this failure to protect the core of the health care workforce.

Research Award


Martin Hackmann, Jonathan Kolstad & Amanda Kowalski, “Adverse Selection and the Individual Mandate: When Theory Meets Practice,” American Economic Review

This paper demonstrated that the individual mandate in Massachusetts reduced adverse selection and costs in the individual market, with an estimated annual welfare gain of $51 million in the state. The judges noted the policy relevance of the findings as the ACA’s individual mandate continues to face political challenges.

Trade Journalism Award


Emily Anthes, “Save Blood, Save Lives” & “The Trouble with Checklists,” Nature

This reporting revealed a dangerous over-reliance on blood transfusions and the shortcomings of surgical checklists. The judges called the stories “really beautifully done,” praising the author’s writing, compelling use of data and skill in drawing out practical solutions for an industry audience.

Digital Media Award


Andrew Sprung, “When Silver Is Worth More Than Gold or Platinum” (posts 2, 3, 4), xpostfactoid

This series detailed the way cost sharing reductions available for silver plans purchased in the ACA marketplaces both simplify and skew consumer decision making. The judges praised the series for its “detailed, readable, non-partisan analysis” and important observations on subsidy take-up rates.

About the Awards

Established in 1993, the NIHCM Awards recognize the talented journalists and researchers who serve as catalysts for positive change by advancing and informing public and private policy making. NIHCM's President and CEO, Nancy Chockley, explains, "NIHCM was founded to provoke new thinking and ideas. Through our awards, we recognize the tremendous contributions of researchers and journalists who bring new evidence to light and communicate it to the public." This year's competition brought in nearly 500 entries.


The National Institute for Health Care Management (NIHCM) Foundation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the health of Americans by spurring workable and creative solutions to pressing health care problems.


NIHCM Foundation
(202) 296-4426