Press Releases / May 12, 2017

Winners Named in 23rd Annual NIHCM Research and Journalism Awards

Washington, D.C. – May 12, 2017 - NIHCM Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the 23rd annual NIHCM Awards. The winning entries were chosen by independent panels of highly esteemed journalists and researchers. The winners and finalists will be honored at a banquet in Washington, D.C. next month, and the winners will each receive a $10,000 cash prize.

General Circulation Print Journalism Award

Gen Circ Winners 2017

Jon Kamp, Jeanne Whalen, Arian Campo-Flores, Joseph Walker, Valerie Bauerlein, Jennifer Levitz, Scott Calvert and Brian Spegele, "Hooked: The global causes and human consequences of America's addiction to opioids," The Wall Street Journal, 5/19/2016, 6/23/2016, 10/5/2016, 11/4/2016, 11/22/2016, 12/15/2016, 12/23/2016, 12/29/2016

This investigation revealed how the heavy-duty painkiller fentanyl became a deadly street drug. The judges said “every word was a magnificent read” and called it “pretty amazing,” applauding the reporters for exposing how illicit fentanyl enters the U.S. and for showing the trauma experienced by the children of addicts.

Trade Journalism Award

Trade Winners 2017

Bob Herman and Fan Fei, “Wounded Care,” Modern Healthcare

This series explored the state of affairs within the Indian Health Service through on-the-ground reporting and analysis of persistent problems with federal funding and patient safety. The judges said this issue was “off the radar screen” and called Modern Healthcare “admirable” for drawing attention to this “intractable problem.”

Television and Radio Journalism Award

Television Radio Winners 2017

Howard Berkes, Robert Little, Nicole Beemsterboer, Benny Becker and Jeff Young, “Advanced Black Lung Cases Surge in Appalachia,” All Things Considered, NPR, and Ohio Valley ReSource, 12/15/2016, 12/16/2016

This series uncovered the staggering impact of black lung on coal miners, finding the incidence of this deadly disease to be ten times higher than federal researchers had reported. The judges called the work “startling and new” and “excellent enterprise reporting,” pointing to its success in spurring Congress to look into the issue.

Digital Media Award

Digital Media Winners 2017

David Armstrong, Matthew Orr and Natalia Bronshtein, “STAT: Coverage of the opioid crisis," STAT, (Part 1, 2, 3, 4)

This multi-media accounting of the opioid crisis exposed what’s fueling the epidemic and offered a testament to how fentanyl is destroying lives. The judges called the series “phenomenal” and “a cut above," noting its “stunning” visuals, the “breadth of investigation” and the “novelty” of the story angles.

Research Award

Research Winners 2017

Keith Marzilli Ericson and Amanda Starc, “How Product Standardization Affects Choice: Evidence from the Massachusetts Health Insurance Exchange,” Journal of Health Economics

This paper demonstrated how simple changes in the menu of plans offered in an exchange and in the way information is presented can affect consumer choices and improve welfare. The judges commended the authors for tackling an important policy topic in a way that is broadly applicable, calling the paper “interesting and actionable.”

Honorable Mention:

Jason Abaluck, Leila Agha, Chris Kabrhel, Ali Raja and Arjun Venkatesh, “The Determinants of Productivity in Medical Testing: Intensity and Allocation of Care,” American Economic Review

This paper explored the wasteful spending related to a failure to target service use to patients who would benefit most, estimating that welfare loss from misallocation of a specific imaging test is four times greater than welfare loss from overuse of this test. The judges praised the paper as “creative and provocative” and “methodologically important.”


NIHCM Foundation
(202) 296-4426