Content Type

Topic Categories

Date Range

Research Award

The NIHCM Foundation Health Care Research Award recognizes outstanding published work from researchers furthering innovation in health care financing, delivery and organization or the implementation of health care policy.

Application Information

We will be opening the entry system in early December for the next round of awards. Sign up for our mailing list below to receive updates.

Don't miss our Research Grants.

Find Out More

26th Annual Research Award Process


A $20,000 prize will be presented to the winner.

Have questions about our Research Award?

Award FAQ


  • Articles must have been published in a peer-reviewed journal during calendar year 2019 either in print or online. (An article cannot be submitted in more than one competition year.)
  • All research articles must address some aspect of health care financing, delivery, organization or policy implementation.


  • Deadline: February 3, 2020
  • Entry is free
  • Limit two entries per entrant

Selection Criteria

  • Originality and creativity of the research
  • Impact that the research may have in advancing the public policy debate or improving health care delivery and management
  • Relevance to one or more of the subject areas (health care financing, delivery and organization and/or the implementation of health care policy)


Laurence C. Baker

Professor & Chair of Health Research and Policy, Stanford University

Tsung-Mei Cheng

Health Policy Research Analyst, Woodrow Wilson School of Public & International Affairs, Princeton University

William Custer

Associate Professor & Director, Center for Health Services Research, Georgia State University

Karen DeSalvo

Chief Health Officer, Google

Sherry Glied

Dean, Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, New York University

Vicky Gregg


Joseph P. Newhouse

John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard University

Mark Pauly

Professor of Health Care Management & Business Economics and Public Policy, University of Pennsylvania

Gail R. Wilensky

Senior Fellow, Project HOPE

June 22, 2020

Winners of the 26th Annual NIHCM Awards and $1 Million in Grants Announced

NIHCM is delighted to hold a virtual celebration to honor our 2020 Award Winners. Our 26th Annual Awards continue NIHCM’s tradition of saluting exceptional journalists and researchers whose evidence-based work advances and transforms our knowledge of health care.

Read More