Trade Journalism Award

The NIHCM Foundation Trade Journalism Awards recognize excellence in health care reporting and writing on the financing and delivery of health care and the impact of health care policy.

Don't miss our Journalism Grants.

Find Out More

30th Annual Trade Journalism Award Process


A $15,000 prize will be presented to the Trade Journalism Award winner.

Have questions about our Trade Journalism Award?

Award FAQ


  • Articles must originally have been published during the calendar year 2023.
  • Entries will be accepted from publications written for a specialty audience.
  • Articles should be timely and produce new insights into health care financing and delivery or health care policy.


  • Deadline: January 31, 2024.
  • Entry is free
  • An individual may be listed as the primary contributor on no more than three (3) entries but may be listed as a co-contributor on additional entries
  • An entry can be either a series or an individual piece of work

Selection Criteria

  • New insights generated by the reporting
  • Impact on health care policy
  • Quality of reporting
  • Relevance to one or both of the subject areas (financing and delivery of health care and/or the impact of health care policy)


Eliza Barclay

Climate Editor, Opinion, The New York Times, formerly Vox

John Carreyrou

Investigative Reporter, The New York Times, formerly Wall Street Journal

John Fauber

Former Medical Reporter, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and USA Today Network

Clifton Leaf

Adjunct Professor of Journalism, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, former Editor in Chief, Fortune

Fred Schulte

Senior Correspondent, KFF Health News

William Wan

Enterprise Reporter, The Washington Post