Television and Audio Journalism Award Winners

2023 Winner


ABC News Studios, ONYX Collective, and Hulu

Paula Eiselt and Tonya Lewis Lee


Paula Eiselt

Tonya Lewis Lee

Jane McMullen

Dan Edge

2022 Winner

China's COVID Secrets

PBS Frontline

Jane McMullen, Alex Mattholie, Stephanie Stafford, and Dan Edge


2021 Winner

Bravery and Hope: 7 Days on the Front Line

CBS News

Susan Zirinsky, Guy Campanile, Mitch Weitzner, CBS News Bravery and Hope team

Learn More

Honorable Mention

COVID’s Hidden Toll


Daffodil Altan, Andrés Cediel, María José Calderón, Frank Koughan, Andrew Metz and Raney Aronson-Rath

Learn More

CBS Production Team

Andrew Bast

Photo credit: Gilad Thaler

2020 Winner

Predator on the Reservation

PBS News' Frontline and The Wall Street Journal

Gabe Johnson, Christopher Weaver, Dan Frosch, Raney Aronson-Rath, Andrew Metz, Jennifer S. Forsyth and Mike Shum


2019 Winner

The Rockford File

CBS News, 60 Minutes

Lesley Stahl, Richard Bonin, Ayesha Siddiqi, Richard Buddenhagen, Jeff Fager, Bill Owens

Learn More

2018 Winner

The Whistleblower and Too Big to Prosecute

60 Minutes, CBS and The Washington Post

Bill Whitaker, Ira Rosen, Sam Hornblower, Robert Zimet, Lenny Bernstein and Scott Higham

Learn More

Honorable Mention

A Drugmaker Tries to Cash In On The Opioid Epidemic, One State Law At A Time and To Grow Market Share, A Drugmaker Pitches Its Product To Judges

NPR & Side Effects Public Media

Jake Harper

6/12/2017 8/3/2017

2017 Winner

Advanced Black Lung Cases Surge in Appalachia

All Things Considered, NPR and Ohio Valley ReSource

Howard Berkes, Robert Little, Nicole Beemsterboer, Benny Becker and Jeff Young

12/15/2016 12/16/2016

2015 Winner

Weed 2: Cannabis Madness

CNN Special Reports

Sanjay Gupta

Learn More

2015 Winner

Opioid Wars (Honorable Mention)

Fault Lines, Al Jazeera America

Sebastian Walker, Sam Black, Joel Van Haren, Lindy Jankura, Abdulai Bah, Shannon Stanley and Dana Merwin, Nikhil Swaminathan, Carrie Lozano, Mathieu Skene

Learn More

2014 Winner

Hunting the Nightmare Bacteria


Rick Young, Anthony Szulc, David E. Hoffman, Emma Schwartz, Fritz Kramer, Lynne Perri, Charles Lewis, Andrew Metz, Raney Aronson, David Fanning

Learn More

2016 Winner

Injured Nurses


Daniel Zwerdling, Robert Little, Nicole Beemsterboer, Barbara Van Woerkom, Robert Benincasa, Samantha Sunne & Lydia Emmanouilidou

Learn More

2013 Winner

Cost of Admission

60 Minutes, CBS

eff Fager, Bill Owens, Sam Hornblower, Michael Rey, Oriana Zill de Granados, Robert Zimet, Steve Kroft

Learn More

2012 Winner

Autism: Coming of Age

Veritech Corporation, MassMutual, American Public Television

Catherine Sager, John E. Maher, Brian Leonard, Jeremy Cole, Karen Silverstein

Learn More

2011 Winner

FRONTLINE: The Vaccine War


Jon Palfreman, Kate McMahon, Mark Rublee, Raoul Rosenberg

Learn More

2010 Winner

How A Bone Disease Grew to Fit the Prescription


Anne Gudenkauf, Gisele Grayson, Alix Spiegel, Jane Greenhalgh

2009 Winner

UNNATURAL CAUSES: Is Inequality Making Us Sick?

California Newsreel with Vital Pictures

Larry Adelman, Llewellyn Smith, Christine Herbes-Sommers

2008 Winner

To Iraq and Back: Bob Woodruff Reports

The Documentary Group/ABC News

Bob Woodruff, Keith Summa & Gabrielle Tenenbaum, Tom Yellin, Kayce Freed Jennings